IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

No such thing as nothing

A grey and rainy day. The thought passed through my mind that I haven’t done anything today. This led to further thoughts, e.g. the phrase that evasive politicians and media moguls and their minders come up with when pressed by journalists and the paparazzi, “Nothing to see here!” (Of course that’s because they are usually up to no good and want to conceal it): also that rather popular nonsense plaque that some folk like to put up on houses, such as “On 23rd April 1631 nothing happened here”.
But of course I have done some things since there is no such thing as nothing, other than that it is a concept. Getting a bit too philosophical now…
We woke up later than usual and I was still getting dressed when I got a phone call from Ian about the pond. Our daughter Jess called a minute later and spoke to Hanne Lene; she is not feeling too well and the three children are all in various stages of chicken pox, the house was in a mess and she was feeling overwhelmed. Cue HL offering to visit and help out.
It was too chilly and grey for gardening so I decided to sort out a few of the dull and useful tasks that I generally put off as long as possible. These included packing away the last of the things I had taken to Ireland in the right places; regaining access to an online bank account I had forgotten the password of, feeding Billy the cat, lighting a woodburner (even on May 31st, the house is cold today!), washing up and looking up recipes for a vegetarian paella that I am going to make for our supper. All good stuff.
Mid afternoon the heavens really opened and there was a dramatic sky. I tried a photo of rain on the pond from indoors but too many reflections in the windows, so I had to go out in the downpour with an umbrella in one hand and an iPad in the other. The things we do for Blip…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.