The Wooden Spoon

What a fun evening. To celebrate our photo society success over the last year and to mark the handover of the chair from me to Nick (front right) the committee had a dinner. It was brilliant fun. And to mark the occasion, much to my surprise I was presented with some super gifts. I had no idea this was coming.
 
There has been a running joke over the last twelve months that I have come last in the club annual competition – not a good example for the chair to be setting. When presenting the awards at the AGM recently I had expressed disappointment that there wasn’t a wooden spoon trophy, because I would have won it.
 
Lo and behold Karen, our secretary seen at the back with me, ordered a spoon with my name and years as chair engraved onto it. Brilliant. I had no idea and it was a complete surprise. When I opened the parcel much hilarity and photograph taking ensued... 
 
So well done to Karen for organising the evening and the trophy. I’m not going to pass it on though – it’s mine for life. Well done to Gerard for taking the picture.
 
There are at least three other Blippers around the table. Lisa Christie, front left. Rob Wilkinson back left and HClaireB , front right next to Nick. I hold Rob responsible for my poor marks because he is the  competition secretary (see extra). What a great group of friends. I am sure that my successor, Nick will make a splendid job as chair for the next three years

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.