Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

High Flow at the Ford

We have certainly been over-endowed with rain. The drought has broken. There has been bad flooding in some previously drought-stricken areas of the North Island. I have just heard on the news that there is flooding in parts of the Nelson Province which is to the west of Marlborough. Surface flooding in Stoke and Richmond. That rain is heading our way.
There was 40.mm in our rain gauge this morning. That makes almost two inches over 48 hours. That is a lot of rain for Blenheim.
The dogs and I were unable to access the true left bank of the Taylor River this morning. That is our favourite walking route.
The ford, which I pictured in low flow only last Tuesday, is impassable. It is high flow at the ford...more like flood flow.
I stood as close as I could to where I captured last Tuesday's image. The river is roaring through and has cut out some of the softer shingle on the true right bank where I stood last week.
The dogs don't care. They are sensible enough to stay out of the flood waters. Some years ago Fergus was silly enough to go in for a swim in like conditions. He scrambled out unharmed some distance down stream and stuck closely at heel for the remainder of that walk.
The dogs look at the flooded river and sort of shrug as if to say "There's a change of plan for our walk today!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.