Bees in the Bearberry Cotoneaster.

There are so many of the them the bush is humming!
Good to see them all. There are the white and orange tail bumble bees and wild honey bees.
The sun came out after lunch and the temperature went up in what was then a gentle breeze.
We are both recovering from a tummy bug, which Stephen has had worse than me.
I am now ok. Enough that I could go to Lichfield last night to see the latest Downton Abbey film. We had two tickets but it was too late to ring a friend.
All will be revealed about my ticket.
The small cinema screen inside the Garrick Theatre is really comfortable.
It is called the Studio.
We’ve been to lots of productions in the actual theatre itself, from musicals to excellent plays.
So good to see it back in use.
It only takes about 20 minutes to drive there in the evening and then park in the multi-storey nearby.
Once inside I showed my ticket to the young lady and went to look for my seat.(Photo of ticket in extras)
At the time there were about 20 or so folk already in their places.
I searched for seat 19 which was on my ticket. I couldn’t see one anywhere!
So I enquire of several people who then began to look and also couldn’t find it. By this time I thought I’d better go and ask the young lady who had shown me in and said my seat was on the right hand side.
She looked at my ticket and laughed.
“Ah,” she said your seat is in row I, as in H, I, J. Seat Number 9”
I laughed and went back to finally unite myself with my seat!
It caused huge merriment and we all had a good laugh.
But the people who were also sitting in Row I, across the aisle from me showed me their tickets. And they were printed differently.
Clearly marked with the words Row I, with the seat number.
Anyway I had a whole row to myself and thoroughly enjoyed being transported to a world in the late 1920’s, beautifully filmed in the lovely quintessentially English Highclere Castle which is used as the location for Downton Abbey.
Gorgeous costumes, a visit to a villa in the South of France, also breathtakingly beautiful, and a frivolously tenuous storyline!
Maggie Smith’s one liners are worth seeing it alone. She is a superb actress.
If you like meaty films with a really good story this will not be for you, but it was so good to be transported for awhile away from reality to lose myself in the glorious cinematography.
I have mown the top lawn this afternoon now it is June 1st, and No Mow May is no more.
You may just about be able to see part of it in extras.
I’ve also included a shot of part of the wild patch (overgrown ;-). ) at the top of the garden by the shed.
Soon be time for tea.
Another busy day.
I went shopping first thing before making our lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.