The second half of life..

By twigs

It never rains . . . .

. . . . but it pours.

So the saying goes and the evidence fell tonight.

It's been rainy on and off all day. Then, about 4.30, I was shaken by a clap of thunder. One of my Holy Grail shots is lightning so, after some hmm'ing and ha'ing I decided to hop in the van and seek out a location to hopfully get some lightning shots.

In the 20 or lso minutes I was out the heavens opened - then opened some more with a bit of hail. The roads were beginning to fill with the rain so I decided to head home and this is what I saw.

My poor wee car up to its sills in floodwater, torrents of water flowing down the driveway, sewerage covers popped and spewing into the street :(

I parked the van up the drive then made a reccy visit out to the car to see if I could move it up the drive too (the drive is on a gentle slope). As I stepped on to where the road begins I could feel the force of the water as it rapidly flowed past me at mid-calf level. It didn't take more than a few seconds to decide that I would just leave the car.

Now, a few hours later, the rains have stopped and I've been out to check on the car - floodwater right through the passenger side but otherwise ok.

The neighbours over the road were out too so we checked in with each other - they narrowly escaped having flood water spill into their house but their next door neighbour and about 2 or 3 houses down the road weren't so lucky. Residents from a house behind them had the fire service pumping water out of their house and were to be evacuated for the night.

And all of this just a couple of weeks or so after one of the worst droughts in living memory was broken.

Yup - it never rains but it pours.

I do hope no-one has been injured through the storm - it's been one to remember.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.