Platinum Pudding - Not A Trifling Matter

I made my version of the Platinum Pudding for my daughter. The original is very impressive but a real faff. I made the swiss roll to a recipe that my daughter used for her A level cookery exam. I used M&S Sicilian lemon curd, rather than making that myself. It's lovely, much nicer than Gale's, which I remember from childhood. I omitted the jelly layer as, in my view, an English trifle doesn't have it. It does have alcohol though. I moistened my roll with Limoncello mixed with a little mandarin juice. I thought the mandarin coulis tasted too bland so I added some lemon zest and fresh nectarine flesh. The last time I remember having tinned mandarins in the house was in the sixties. 

I didn't make the amaretti biscuits but bought some and used them. together with bought mini lemon meringues, for decoration. I hate white chocolate so made my mixed peel studded shards with golden blonde chocolate. I've never seen this before and it's nearly as disgusting as white. I couldn't resist sprinkling a little edible purple glitter and including edible diamonds.

I do think our Queen has set us a wonderful example, hence my fondant slogan.

My daughter and I took our dogs to Clavering to walk the Queen's Jubilee Scarecrow Trail. We didn't see it all but loved what we saw. I've added a montage to extras. We came back via the beautiful Essex village of  Manuden. Top marks to the villagers for wonderful festive decorations.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.