Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Rescue near Allenheads

Today I joined the Intermediate Walkers for a walk near Allenheads, a village in the very south of Northumberland. It is near the border with Weardale in Co Durham.

Sheila, our leader, was born and brought up on a farm here. We could see it from our route. Her sister, brother and a nephew came along for the walk in their home area. 

I wanted you to see the sort of countryside and I'm pleased to be able to do that as well as capturing a rescue. There were two lambs on our side of the wall and their mother was on the other. She was making a lot of noise. One lamb tried to get through a tangle of wire and got stuck. It did free itself. The other was unable to see a way to safety so Sheila and her nephew lifted it over.

A good deed for the day.

Although it rained and drizzled, we had a good time.

We saw lots of wild flowers today. The stars were the wild pansies. They flourish here because they can tolerate the heavy metals in the soil. It is hard to imagine that this was a valley where lead mining was the main occupation for many years.

One of the group who was in Rupit with me has gone down with Covid. I suspect the aeroplane or the crowded baggage area.

I tested negative this afternoon. Phew!

We have a bunting crisis. I ordered some yesterday, to arrive today, or so I thought. It will arrive next week so not much good. Crisis management is in operation!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.