Variant

A period of good weather appears to have arrived, but not when I went out with Django first thing, when it was still largely grey. In the morning I tidied up slides for two talks on Monday, and after lunch had an on-line meeting with a student and her industrial supervisors. I then took a break - watching the second half of Lancashire's innings in the T20 - before listening to the first talk of the session in which I was the second speaker. There were 17 other people in attendance for my talk, but it was rather an academic audience. I had the difficult job of politely rebuffing suggestions for our solver because I couldn't justify the developer time, and no-one was ever going to pay for it!

When I came downstairs, A was tired and talking to L, so I cooked and then walked Django. It was a very pleasant evening, and I hoped to make more of the light shining through this dandelion head. I'd also hoped that here would be a good sunset, but a big bank of cloud cleared too late. When I heard a cheer from a house that I passed, I guessed correctly that Scotland ha scored against Ukraine, so I listened to the last 20 minutes of the game whilst walking. I can't say that I was sorry that Scotland lost - at least it means not having to consider boycotting watching their matches in the corrupt and disgraceful Qatar World Cup.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.