SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Misunderstanding

The morning at the conference was busy, with the last three talks in my minisymposium, and the first few in another dedicated to a particular software project whose developers are supporters of ours - and we're fans of them! Its first speaker greeted me warmly, and after a quick search in emails, I realised that he's the guy who told us last week that he's got some funding for us as part of a big project he's "won". Hence we went to lunch with him, another Brazilian, and a Belgian - eating Mexican! After that, I hung out in the conference lobby and chatted to a few "friends" until it was time to learn more about how our software is to be used for water resource management in India. Since I spoke only recently to a company using our software for very similar purposes in the Netherlands, it was interesting to see the differences in context! 

I then headed back to the Airbnb, where I was soon joined by И, and we relaxed by catching up on stuff that had been pushed aside by travelling and the conference. When I heard from A that she'd managed to see kendallishere and was on her way back, I guessed that she'd stayed longer, so we put on a household wash and went off to eat. When we returned, the washing had finished, but A was back. I found out that when she'd contacted me she wasn't leaving Portland, but arriving in Seattle! - a misunderstanding born out of neither us having SIM cards and me being very tired! However, she'd had such a good day with kendallishere in Portland, that I was soon forgiven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.