SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Conference

The SIAM Optimization Conference began today, and couldn't have gone any better for И and I. We didn't have to look for interesting talks, because there were enough in the minisymposium that I organised to fill our schedule. After giving my talk, I was quite overwhelmed by people wanting to talk to me: a strange and slightly unwelcome experience, since the nice and polite people didn't get much of a look in. There was even a queue of people wanting to talk to И! At the end of the day, a researcher from India thanked us for developing our software, since it is enabling his group to create a web application to inform the optimal operation of water distribution networks.

Having had a rather disappointing lunch at the Pike Place Market, when we returned to the Airbnb we went out to eat at a nearby Japanese restaurant with A and toasted И's birthday - since it was already past midnight in Bulgaria!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.