Magnolia morning

Update. Long wait at the clinic, but I've made it home with prescription cough pills for the days, codeine syrup for the nights(zzz) and an inhaler. Acute Bronchitis, not pneumonia. She thought it a piggyback virus that hopped on when I was still not a 100% from the last 3 weeks. I was told to be patient (me to be patient, ha), this could take 3 more weeks to clear up.


Trish is safely on the bus and probably at the airport by now. It worked out that I could say goodbye in person. No driving for me for the next 7 days because of the codeine. My head is absolutely beating from the intense coughing. I've had my first doses and will slink to my resting spot. No cat will put up with this coughing to join me, pity. It's Raspberry's duty time.

Below is my post from early this morning...

I'm up early, I've coughed all night and now when lying down my exhaling breaths sound like a wheezing whistle. Hopefully it's just bronchitis. I'll be having a trip to the clinic when it opens this morning. I had an inhaler a few years ago from a lingering cough after a virus, so I expect I'll have another. I'm exhausted from coughing and I can't talk without starting to hack. Both cats are completely fed up and poor T. She leaves for another conference in Kansas City this afternoon.

As I opened the curtains to the beautiful morning light I saw the old magnolia and her blooms brushed and blushed with morning pinkness. She and I are about the same age, at least I still have all my limbs, so many of hers were lost this winter. She looks perfectly glorious this morning, towering over my childhood house. In this childhood photo you can see me, decked out for Easter and my grandparent's house in the background, where we live today. Here's the tree earlier this week, you can see how much it has grown in over 60 years. It was so much fuller before the awful winter, but it blooms once more, announcing spring.

For the Record,
This day came in sunny with green things popping up everywhere.

Boston Globe video, Five days in April.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.