Afternoon Tea

I'm just home from helping at an afternoon tea for the local club for older people who live in the area. It's been a great success and I think everyone enjoyed it. There were at least 60 people there and about 10 helpers. It was held in the lawn bowling club's recently refurbished clubhouse.

I'm not and never have been a monarchist. Not in the Jonny Rotten sense; just that I'm not keen on the subservience. I don't like flag waving either. However lots of people living locally are marking HM the Q's platinum jubilee. The Community Council represents the views of people living in the area so here we are.

The tables were beautifully set with these ivy pattern cups and saucers. We had the same design at home when I was growing up. So that brought back lots of memories for me. The afternoon tea was over-catered but much better that than the other way round. There's a bowling match tonight so any left overs will be eaten then.

The choir from the local primary school came and did a set which was heartwarming. Then, as I was leaving, the movers and shakers of the "over 80s club" were setting about some line dancing. Who knows when or how it will all end.

Very well done to Ukraine last night. A pity for the home team but we were never going to win.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.