Platinum Jubilee

A remarkably quiet day.  Very calm with no wind.. and not  many people about.  Perhaps all in town for the Giant Street Party perhaps.. I expected to hear music and signs of drunken joviality but it really has been noticeably quiet today.

A peaceful walk up to the sea wall then I sat in the garden and read. The only sound was birdsong. Very relaxing.

TV tonight showed highlights of the day's celebrations in London. 70 years as Queen is a remarkable achievement . 

Blip shows a photo taken at a street party to celebrate the Queens coronation which was a year after she became queen, in 1953. That's me cutting the cake with the help of my mum. I was given the honour as I was the youngest there.  Held indoors because it rained. 
 And the wine.. to celebrate Her Majesty's good health

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.