Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Highlands, Denver

I was in Denver again today. As I said in yesterday’s blip, one of the crew is celebrating her birthday - today! So 5 of us spent a few hours together. At my suggestion we went to a neighbourhood called Highlands which was an Uber ride away. I was aiming for a particular breakfast restaurant which I had discovered before the pandemic. They used to have a location near our hotel but that sadly has closed down. I’d never been to this location but it was SO worth it!

The restaurant is called Sassafras and it serves southern food. AND they are located in an historic Victorian house with a beautiful garden. Thankfully everyone LOVED it. We shared two plates of beignets while we waited for our food to come. Everything was delicious. We ate inside but after our meal we took our coffees out to the garden and enjoyed some time there too. If you’re ever in Denver I highly recommend!

Highlands is one of the new ‘hotspots’ of Denver. An historic neighbourhood turned very trendy! I never remember it when I lived there! We wandered along the Main Street for awhile and did a little bit of browsing in some interesting shops and boutiques. I will definitely come back to this area for another look around, either by bus or Uber.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.