Life Savors

By osuzanna

A Place of Significance....

....in my life, at least.  

This is the site where the old George Washington University Hospital was located before it was torn down and a new hospital was built just to the right of it (visible in the photo).  My two youngest children were born here. My husband spent most of his career between the two hospitals and across the street from both buildings is George Washington Circle where he proposed to me a very long time ago.  The road in front of the building is Pennsylvania Avenue and this is just 6 blocks from the White House.  

I thought I would grab a shot for sentimental reasons as we returned from the Phillips Gallery where we saw the Picasso Blue Period exhibit.  It was unbearably hot for the walk there and back and I was a pretty sad sack by the time we got to the car. I was surprised to see that there still isn't much traffic in downtown DC. I guess many are still working from home.  

I keep hearing of friends getting Covid. The rates in our suburban county are quite high, but no one talks about it.  Ignoring it doesn't seem to make it go away as much as we would like it to.  The only consolation is that hospitalizations and deaths remain low...but they are still occurring so we remain vigilant and cautious.  The new normal....  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.