Bee orchid

Last year I read about a broad roadside verge outside Motorpoint, on the edge of Sheffield, full of bee orchids. I duly went and took some photos, mesmerised by the carpet of beautiful blooms in this improbable semi-industrial setting. The local Wildlife Trust had negotiated with Motorpoint to leave the verge uncut, so that the flowers could set seed for the following season.
I only found out about all this towards the end of the orchids' flowering season, so this year I hoped to go back and catch them at an earlier stage.
Ah well.
You can guess what I found.
A neatly mown verge, not an orchid in sight.  Maybe there was a change of manager at Motorpoint? Or maybe there had been a wildflower advocate there who just moved on.
Anyway, I felt gutted, looking at the sterile expanse of neat verge, where last year there had been a riot of colour (and insects, of course).
These are wild flowers, though, so I hoped that maybe a few had escaped beyond the mown area and survived. I poked around between parked cars on the other side of the fence, and I did find a few specimens.  The flowers are just opening; the colours are vivid, the details are lovely. But it's a very depleted population.
Maybe they'll be able to recolonise the original verge next year. I'm going to email Motorpoint, and the Wildflife Trust, to see if there's any scope for discussion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.