It's the Queen!

70 years our queen - what an achievement! I wouldn't have her job for anything. I applaud her.
Wishing her a very happy Platinum Jubilee.
Quite a lot of houses have put bunting, little flags and other items up to celebrate. There is nothing planned where we live but there are not as many children around our local area now, so maybe that has a bearing.
I lived in Clayton-le-Moors when it was the Silver Jubilee and we had a street party. It was great community spirit. The kids loved it although the youngest of my three won't recall it since he was only 8 months old. There was lots of food, mostly home made, drinks (not alcohol), games and fancy dress. 
We had bunting stretching from house to house across the (terraced) street, via the upper windows. I popped across to the house opposite with mine to ask can they fasten my bunting to their window - got an abrupt "No!" and the door shut in my face! Ooops. Ours was the only hous in the street with diagonal bunting - had to have mine going to the house next door to the one opposite!
Ah well. it is now a funny memory.
I wish I could put my hand on some photos to look back on - maybe we took some but if so I wouldn't know where they are - we probably didn't take any though - people did not take many photos in the 70s. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.