Ben...

Day 4...

Oh where to start? I had the best day today... each day just keeps topping the day before. I was up at 5am again so I got up and went out early. I planned to go for a wander round Saks but got sidetracked along the way by Grand Central Station and the Chrysler Building. I can't really get a decent shot of it from the ground so I think I'll wait until I'm high up and do it at night.

I made it to Saks eventually but I'm not a make-up wearer so the sales pitches were lost on me. They don't stock Versace so I nipped into the Versace shop to get my perfume. It doesn't really matter that I'm not wearing designer clothes when I visit the posh shops, the staff are so helpful and never make me feel like I don't belong there with the million dollar people. The young lad in the Lindt shop was so helpful he gave me 15 extra balls for free and called me beautiful! Bless... I'm old enough to be his mum!!

I wandered up to Central Park and people watched. No-one cares when you take their photo... there are no funny looks, no questioning expressions, they just strike a pose and encourage me to snap them. A family in the park asked if I'd take their photo, I think people see Darcy and assume that (a) I'm trustworthy with their camera and (b) likely to take a better shot than the average person. I've taken a whole pile of shots with other people's cameras but this guy was handing me his phone with the explanation that he'd left his memory card in his laptop. How many times have I done that? I did it today too but I always carry a spare. So I asked if he wanted to give me an email address and I could take some with my camera and send them over. He gave me his card and said that would be great. I sent them over when I got home and he emailed back thanking me, saying that they were in the city for a funeral so their day had been brightened by the visit to Central Park.

I spent the rest of the afternoon feeding the squirrels (they sit on my knee here too) and watching the skate dancers. It's one of my favourite things about New York so I'm going back tomorrow now today cause I'm a bit behind to see them again.

Then I went round to see Ben. He's only a few blocks down for my apartment but it's a different world. When I walked through the door of his apartment, the first thing that hit me apart from how devilishly handsome Ben is obviously was the most spectacular view I've ever seen. I've not been up high enough to see the city at night and its breathtaking. So I spent the evening sipping champagne with Ben and Cecilee and lots more of their friends and really had the most amazing night. I was made so welcome, there was birthday cake and candles and more champagne before we walked up to a bar called Flaming Saddles... where the barman dance on the bar... think Coyote Ugly only with pretty gay men. Awesome! Thank you for making me feel so welcome and like part of the gang, so many interesting people, I had a really lovely time.

I got home at 3.30am, a little tipsy hammered and was accompanied along the street by the biggest rat I've ever seen!

This is the best city, great people and I'm having the most amazing time. My face actually hurts cause I've been smiling since I got here!

Oh... and one more important point to note... I GOT ASKED FOR ID IN THE PUB!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.