Thick-legged Flower-beetle

I'd agreed to give some botanical training to new staff at the Great Fen this morning, and duly arrived at Corney's Barn at 9 a.m. We headed out to an area of grassland that they are monitoring, and I helped with their grass ids. After the first few samples it started to rain, becoming gradually more determined. I had my waterproof coat on, but wished I'd put a jumper on instead of the shirt I was wearing, and I really could have done with gloves - I'm not sure I've ever been so cold in late-May. 

We pressed on to the end of the ten samples, then headed back to the barn for hot coffee. By the time we'd drunk this, there was blue sky on the horizon so we headed out again to some fields which had been seeded with wildflower mix at Engine Farm. These were looking very good and provided a wider range of species to identify. 

I left at lunchtime and was very glad to be home and be able to change out of my damp clothes. I should have been preparing a presentation in the afternoon, but was unable to focus so spent some time gardening where I came across this Thick-legged Flower-beetle enjoying one of our Ox-eye Daisies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.