The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Blackcap Singing - Newport Wetlands

I managed to spend the day at Newport Wetlands today. I think it is only my third visit of the year. It was a funny day really. A good days birding, with a decent species list at the end of it, and some fantastic company in the shape of Amanda (Flintaxe), Nigel (Barman) and John (of underscore fame on the RSPB Newport Wetlands RSPB Message Board fame), but my photo mojo left me completely.

The number of shots I could file under "the one that got away" would fill a hard drive today I can tell you! The place was dripping in Chiffchaffs and Willow Warblers. all of which were flitting from branch to branch, desperately trying to feed up on the abundance of insects after their long migration from Africa. It was almost impossible to keep an eye on them, let alone train a 500mm lens on them. Time after time they perched picture perfect on a branch, and time after time I lined them up, got them in focus, and then they would fly off.

This singing Blackcap was a good example. Okay, this isn't too bad a shot, but it had been a lot, lot closer before, and it had a beak full of insects. All in all a bit frustrating.

But as I said, the company was excellent, and the birding was good. The highlight of the day the first Cuckoo of 2013. Way to far off for a photo, but luckily, Mat from the visitor centre was there with his scope.

It was good to be out and about in the sun for once!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.