Watersports

No apologies for blipping the Ponte Vecchio again today, as this is a different angle. We were invited for an extended aperitivo also involving bigger snacks to the Società Canottieri Firenze, which has a grassy area right down on the Arno by the Ponte Vecchio. We watched the sun set through the archways.

The clubhouse is basically built underneath the road that runs along the Arno riverbank. I guess it must flood from time to time, including possibly the last time we were in Florence, when the river was very high. I think that in this photograph taken from the Ponte Vecchio the rowing club has disappeared under water....(where we were sitting on the banks is basically below that red planting on the left). It was a fascinating place to visit and I couldn't resist another photograph of the Ponte Vecchio and of the underground boathouse (see extras).

In the morning, we had a meeting of the members of the group involved in the publishing project, although in my view we could have got this done in about one hour, and possibly spent more time discussing some of the papers. In the afternoon, we had a co-directors meeting for the citizenship observatory. I walked both directions from the city, so by the time we'd been out again for the aperitivo, I had done an epic number of steps.

I'm running very behind with my blips. I had zero time for blipping when I was in Florence, and then after a while I decided it would be best to leave it until I got home. Even once home, other things seemed more urgent. Anyway, I will eventually catch up, and I hope to add some more photos to my Flickr album for Florentine highlights, which I will link to in due course. I am even more behind in looking at and commenting on other people's blips. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.