Santo Spirito

Another busy Florentine day. I did some preparation for the event at 12 noon first thing, before Mr A and I popped out so I could buy myself something rather gorgeous. I'm convinced that as a result of using such a posh notebook the copious notes I take on literally everything will have an even higher quality than normal.

Up to Villa Schifanoia in a taxi, it being too hot for JV to walk that far in full sunshine. The turnout was a bit disappointing, but I found it really refreshing to talk about south east Europe again after such a long time. Afterwards, I walked back to hotel, for a chance to cool down before we headed altogether (me, Mr A, JV and JDz) for dinner at Il Santo Bevitore. Truly excellent food, although it was a bit noisy, so at least some of us were struggling to hear as well as we might. After dinner, we headed over to the Piazza Santo Spirito, where I got my blip of the magnificent frontage of this Brunilleschi masterpiece while we were drinking a last red wine before bed time. We tried to get a drink at the rooftop bar of the Hotel Palazzo Guadagni, but unfortunately it was full. Consequently, we ended the evening at ground level.

As can be imagined, with this amount of eating, drinking, walking, talking and stuff, my days were very full indeed (and my nights were not that successful when it came to sleeping partly through eating and drinking too much, and partly because it was too hot so we had to have the air conditioning on).

I've now edited all the worthwhile Florence photos, and added them to the beginning of this Flickr album (the first 30 photos or so are from this trip).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.