Seeking the Source

Up and about again today, and the weather is on the verge of warm, for the first time this year I went out for a walk without a coat, though I still needed a jacket.

I was nor specifically seeking the source of Aberdeen, but apparently by chance I may have found it. I wandered down a lane down which I have never ventured previously. The lane runs along the back of some housing and eventually, and rather disappointingly ended in a dead end. I paused to take a photo of this small waterfall.

The small stream, I am tempted to say "wee burn", is I think "Den Burn", it is possibly from the Den Burn that Aberdeen takes its name Aberden - 'the mouth of the Den'. Personally I have my doubts. Nonetheless Den Burn and disappears at various points as it crosses the city, and in many places under the city. Having started to the west of the city it eventually comes out in Aberdeen harbour.

This is about as wide as it gets, but despite its side it still manages to cause some flooding as some local business can testify. I notice sand bags have been placed along one side of the Burn at this point, some of which have already burst, I doubt they will be very effective.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.