Misadventure in Segovia

Another pleasant day in Marugán. Ken and I head into the village for a coffee at the bar. It’s the festival of their patron Saint and a “marching” band is playing a cover of a suggestive South American croon tune. The noise is deafening, so we hightail it out of there.

Another great lunch back at the house and then we head for the AVE station outside Segovia so that I can go to Santander.

I have a ticket on the fast train from Madrid to Santander. Ken and I had assumed that all fast trains on that route stop at Segovia. Turns out they all go through Segovia, but they don’t all stop there.

I find out my mistake almost immediately, call Ken up, and he comes back. We race up the motorway to Valladolid (100km), the actual next stop and get there with 15 minutes to spare. And then the train is then 10 minutes late.

At Santander, I check into my Airbnb before heading out for a very late supper of tomato and olive salad, sitting outside under an awning at midnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.