The Butterfly Days of Summer

The run of perfect June weather continues! And on this day, everywhere I turned, I was met by butterflies! My husband wanted to go jogging in the gameland and I would go walking, with camera.

On my way out the front door, I was met by a large, dark butterfly who came and ate at all of the fading pink rhododendron bloms. There must still be good stuff there, for it stayed a while.

Then we headed to the Scotia Barrens, on the closed road near the shooting range. And again, I was met by butterflies. There were red-spotted purples hanging around, as there almost always are. We also came across a huge feather; turkey, maybe?

And at the end of things, back at the parking lot, this spicebush swallowtail feeding on dame's rocket opened up its wings for me and put on quite a show. "Thank you," I whispered. It was so beautiful.

June is a big family celebration month in my family, with my dad's birthday on June 4 and my big sister Barb's on June 5. My dad turned 92 on this day, and we called and sang him Happy Birthday. We plan to visit them on Father's Day. 92 is a lot of years! Wow!

This is the perfect June weather that Barb always loved. She's walking barefoot in Heaven with Jesus now, and I imagine the weather's perfect there, too. June was HER month, and the butterflies always make me think of her. So we celebrate now, for these are the butterfly days of summer.

My soundtrack song is this one, from the Greenfields album: Barry Gibb, with Butterfly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.