There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Protecting Stones

My husband and I got married in October 2008 on very short notice. He was dying at the time, and I married him to give him my health insurance, to try to help save his life.

He was in three hospitals within a week, and was transported to Hershey by ambulance on our wedding night. Fortunately, tender reader, this story has a happy ending: he rallied, we got our miracle, and now we get to live out our happily ever after. 

We honeymooned at Taughannock in the New York Finger Lakes for a week in May of 2009 with our sweet tabbycat Dexter, renting a rustic cabin overlooking Lake Cayuga. The cat loved it, and we have many happy memories of him sitting in the window of our cabin overlooking the lake.

We went back to the same cabin in May 2010 and May 2011, for a week each time. The last time we were there, I brought back a small bucket of round, smooth lucky stones I'd collected from along the shores of Lake Cayuga.

I don't really know what caused me to think of this, but I had the idea of using them as a talisman, maybe; putting them around our house, as a ward, to keep the good luck in and the bad luck OUT. So I took those stones and put them around as much of the house as I could.

Well, we had given up on raking along the north side of the house in the past few years, and the leaves have accumulated. The ants have been a problem this summer, and so my husband wanted to remove those accumulated leaves.

Guess what we found under all those leaves: my lucky stones from Lake Cayuga! Still warding the house, protecting us with happy memories of very special times and places!

My soundtrack song is Queen, with Save Me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.