TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

A couple of evenings alone

Mrs. Ottawacker and Ottawacker Jr., having taken on the mantle of caring aunt and cousin, a role completely unwelcome as it was for a 16-year-old who was deemed not quite ready for a weekend alone, I found myself in the position of being unchaperoned for two evenings. What would I do? Catch a bus downtown and wander unencumbered among galleries and bars? Settle down to some reading or writing? Meditate on the injustices of life in the 21st century?

Bollocks to that. I decided to park my arse and watch the first in the Beiderbecke Trilogy: The Beiderbecke Affair. I have been meaning to watch it for about three years now, but I have never really been prepared for a ten-hour TV extravaganza. (N.B., The Beiderbecke Affair is only six hours long, but having to explain what has just been said to Mrs. Ottawacker in any TV show set in the North usually doubles the length of a series.)

It wasn't really how I remembered it - but I persevered. And after having seen all six episodes, I couldn't really remember what it was all about or tell you anything about the story arc... but it left me with a feeling of having just seen something good and I quite enjoyed it. And that is what jazz is too, I suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.