Patriotic postbox

Spent hours sewing today - finally decided to patch up Tim's and my work jeans, which had holes in the crotch (Tim) and knees (me).  I had been thinking about repairing another pair of old favourite jeans, but had to admit they were beyond saving, so converted those to a pair of shorts instead, and used the legs for patches for the others.  Got the sewing machine all set up, only to realise it really had to be done by hand.  I quite enjoyed it though, in a strange way - quite a mindful activity (or 'mendful' as I read somewhere online).

Tim and I got out for a walk in the late afternoon.  I'd spotted this crocheted scene on top of a postbox the other day as we went past in the car, and wanted to find it again for some photos.  Happy to see it was still there, and still intact, albeit with a slightly drunken looking corgi ;) 

I was a bit torn between this photo and one I took of a colourful shadow of some bunting.  This one won out, but I stuck the other one on Instagram.

Popped by the pond on the way back home, too, to feed our leftover sweetcorn to the ducks and geese (well, mainly to the pigeons, to be honest).

Watched the jubilee concert on TV last night.  Didn't expect to want to watch the whole thing, but it was surprisingly good and sucked us in.  Loved the Paddington sketch :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.