Souvenir. A piece of history

70 years since she became Queen and 69 years years since the Coronation. There must have been millions of these souvenir mugs produced. I'd almost forgotten I'd had these mugs tucked away. I retrieved them from my mums house years ago to add to my collection of historical artefacts to use in school.

The 3 at the front are to commemorate the Coronation in 1953. The one in the centre has the best likeness taken from a photo. The one at the right not as recognisable as Her Majesty.

The mug at the back on the right is the mug commemorating the Coronation of her father George 6th in 1937, also showing her mother Elizabeth.

The mug at the left is to commemorate the Silver Jubilee of King George 5th in 1935. . Her grandfather. .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.