Studley Grange (Thursday 2nd June 2022)

When I looked over the Chaddington Lane road bridge at Studley Grange I had a feeling of deja vu - there was the same pair of swans and a multitude of mallards. The cob was even teasing the neck of the pen swan with his bill as he had been before.

This time, having seen that site, I headed off in the other direction. Walking further along the path than on the previous occasion I made the welcome discovery that there was another pair there. I saw the male first but behind him in the background I could see his partner still sitting on the nest as she had been last April. I had been wrong to conclude that this had been abandoned as the pair I had seen were now revealed to be a different couple.

After spending awhile there enjoying the peaceful setting I made my way on to the first footbridge and returned walking through an adjacent meadow covered in wildflowers and insects.

When I went down to the canal on the other side of the road with the other swans and the ducks I heard the unmistakeable song of a cuckoo, and also saw the resident mandarin duck. I drove off well satisfied with my visit.

L.
Sunday 5.6.2022 (2045 hr)

Blip #3677 (#3427 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #012
Blips/Extras In 2022 #115/265 + #045/100 Extras
Day #4453 (1031 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2820 (#2660 + 160 in archived blips)

A Visit To Studley Grange, 2 June 2022 (Flickr album of 32 photos)

Wootton Bassett series
Wilts and Berks Canal series
Canals series
Swan series

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Yellow) and Pentax HD P-DA 55-300 mm F4-5.8 ED WR lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Anne Briggs - The Cuckoo (1971)
There are lots of versions of this song that was first published in Popular Rhymes of Scotland (1847) and also known as Coo-Coo Bird. The first recording of it was by Clarence Ashley in 1929, but Anne Briggs' from her self-titled album is as good as any of them.

One year ago:
Woody Wednesday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.