Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Remains of a castle

Took a ride onto the land South of Rotterdam, where Brielle is situated and Oostvoorne from where this blip is. It shows the remains of a small castle that was built little after the year 1200 AD by Dirk van Voorne. 

It's known since centuries as 'Jacoba's Burcht' t.i. the fortress of Jacoba van Beieren, who is known in the countries around us as  'Jacqueline de Bavière'. This castle was part of her dowry and she did live here at times in her short and dramatic live (1401-1436). 
This Jacqueline de Bavière was countess of Holland and Zeeland and Hainout (what's in Belgium nowadays). 

My goodness I can hardly imagine her ways of travels of then in foul weather like today. That must have been on horseback mainly, and with small ferries crossing the many waterways of this region ~ I was glad I travelled by car and didn't get soaked! Passed from bridges and tunnels to get here in an hours time... she'd needed possibly two or three days.

Thank you all lots for your lovely reactions upon my blips of recent ~ you always surprise me and make me happy with your words and thoughts upon my images! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.