After midnight…

I performed at the Flying handbag in Blackpool, I went on stage about quarter past midnight, the manager Matt and head of security Dawn were absolutely lovely and DJ Nathan is a total gem!

I had a great backstage area with leather sofa, array of drinks and snacks and my own private bathroom, so nice, I always find it very difficult before a Performance being in the actual club because people want to talk to me and talking over loud music is bad for the voice and also before I go on stage I like to keep my energies to myself for the performance and sometimes people think that I’m being rude.

DJ Nathan showed me his set up, he is a Vijay as well as a DJ and it was fascinating to see how he makes it all work, I have made some notes and will do some experimenting.

Although I got to bed very late like after four in the morning I was up by about 930 because I had to be out of my hotel by 1030 (how unsociable) so I just headed home, there were lots of cancellations and the trains were absolutely rammed but I was very lucky thank goodness to get a seat, I think if I’d had to stand or sit on the floor it would’ve finished me off.

Got home about three-ish and watch the platinum jubilee concert with Gulliver and Erin, I thought it was great overall fart there was some questionable choices and some definite problems with pitching from some of the vocalists.

I was not particularly impressed with Diana Ross, I mean she’s amazing for 78 and I loved her outfit but she was so clearly miming to a lot of it and miming badly it was just a bit sad. Poor old Rod Stewart doesn’t have the voice he had it seems. I thought Elton John was great, actually really enjoyed Duran Duran and diversity and Craig David. Obviously Nile Rodgers is a total legend. The staging and special effects and the drones were outstanding. Of course the sketch with Paddington and the Queen is an absolute classic! So cool.

Max made a fabulous dinner, so good to be home with my feet up in the bosom of my family.

Three gigs in two days and all that travelling have definitely taken it out of me but it’s been worth it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.