An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Window dressing...

Backblip


Jodie and Duncan opened the skylight in their bedroom when they went to bed and woke to find a roofer hovering beside it just before he started hammering on roof tiles.  No need for an alarm clock here at the moment!

Embarrassingly the hostess (me!) was last downstairs.  My excuse is I like my guests to get showered first just incase the hot water runs out :p 

Jodie and family head back home to England today so a full cooked breakfast was the only acceptable start to the day.

Fuelled up with food and after a few hilarious minutes watching David and Duncan taking turns to pump up the slow puncture on Marshall using a bicycle pump (!) they were on their way.  Just a fleeting visit that was past in a blink.  Hopefully they will be able to stay longer next time.

David, Patricia and I then headed to Scone Palace (pronounced Skoon). 

Since the 9th century, Scone Palace has been a crowning place of the kings of Scotland and was home of the Stone of Destiny. The first recorded Scottish Parliaments took place at Scone.  More info here.  It currently remains alongside the crown jewels of Scotland, known as the Honours of Scotland, in the Crown Room of Edinburgh Castle.  In 2024 the stone's new home will be in Perth City Hall, until it is needed back in Westminster Abbey for the next coronation. 

What a wonderful place and rich in Scottish history.

David and Patrica went inside to explore the rooms in the Palace that are open to the public (as with the majority of Stately Homes, power wheelchairs were not allowed inside.  Not sure why, maybe they are worried us electric chair users will run amok! )  I explored the grounds, which were very busy as they were hosting a garden fair.

As I was ambling round trying to photograph a very noisy peacock, I got chatting to an older gentleman who regaled me with stories of his youth playing in the palace grounds with his school friends.  It was a joy to watch  his face become so animated and his eyes light up as he shared his memories, reliving them as he told me.  Our conversation was worth missing out on the inside of the palace for.

As I carried on around the outside of the Palace I found this window (well a whole lot of them just like this) and I knew it would be my blip.  So pretty.

I met up again with Patricia and David who were very excited to have walked along the Long Gallery where MacBeth and Robert the Bruce both walked on their way to be crowned King of Scotland.  

Of course you can't go to Scone Place and not enjoy a Scone scone (Skoon skon :-) so we sat in the sunshine at the lovely wrought iron tables on the lawn, enjoying those whilst watching Alexander, the white peacock strut his stuff (apparently he lost two tail feathers recently when a car ran over his tail and pulled them out!)

Back home in time for dinner then off to bed to look forward to what tomorrow will bring :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.