After the rain

Woke to steady rain. Went to the supermarket, and the rain was even heavier. Still raining when I gort back. Then there were pauses, and as noon approached the sun was shining. So I went for a jog. While there was no rain. A very temporary state of affairds both today, and forecast to remain that way for at least a week.

My blip is of a bright colour beside the road. The extra is a photo I took when I left the road to try and see the stream I could hear. There was no approach possible, as Watercare have a fence around 'their' land. The fence runs through the most downhill part of the grove. 

These are still young and relatively small Kauri trees, and they will be competing for the light. The tree(s) that is/are the tallest will be the survivors. Only one or perhaps two will ultimately grow as big as Tane Mahuta, the ancient Kauri in the Waipoua Forest. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.