Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Taking Flight

After a nice meal at my parents house along with my Grandad and Auntie I was just gathering my things together to start the drive home when my mum shouted that there was a bird on the garden wall.

Now all weekend I had been hoping for a glimpse of a Kingfisher which we occasionally see, but this was something far better and unexpected. A Sparrowhawk!

I had only just packed my camera gear away, so I hurried to the kitchen window while trying to change lenses. Fortunately it stayed sat on the wall for a good couple of minutes allowing me to get a couple of shots, when another bird fly over quite close to the Sparrowhawk, spooking it and it took off. I managed to get this shot just as it was taking flight. I thought it looked more dynamic than just the Sparrowhawk sat on the wall, and I liked the piercing look of its eyes. Enjoy, and thanks for the recent nice comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.