WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Welcome home

Someone was pleased/heartily relieved to see me.

It's been a long day. Easyjet told me to arrive at the airport three hours before the flight, which given the reported problems with airport security seemed reasonable. So I was up at 6:30 for the 7:30 bus to Gatwick. It whizzed me there very efficiently, arriving on time, and it then took me ten minutes to get through security -- there were very few passengers! 

So I had a long wait, made longer by the gate number flashing up and then immediately disappearing again. We boarded half an hour late and then spent another half hour on the tarmac -- no explanation was offered. The flight was only an hour and a half, but the journey ended up taking me almost 12 hours door to door, by the time I'd got the bus to the station in Toulouse and waited an hour and a half for a train ... I got home just after seven French time.

It was sunny in Toulouse -- here, the sky is bruise-coloured and it's pouring with rain, along with the odd rumble of thunder. So much for summer in the Midi. It's good to be home though. Lazy blip today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.