WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Flora and fauna

... were the focus of my stroll today. I identified this butterfly as a small tortoiseshell, and then for some reason had a sudden doubt, and had to do some googling. This showed I was right to be dubious. It's a painted lady. Maybe it's the first one I've seen, but more likely I've misidentified it previously. They do look similar if you don't look closely. I love the delicate underside of the underwing, in contrast to the brasher upper side. It was a bit windy, so I was lucky to get this. Incidentally, I'd have struggled to identify any butterfly other than perhaps a swallowtail before I started blipping.

Gecko lovers, see the extra! There were two of them contentedly sunbathing on a sunny wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.