WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Butterfly paradise

Blipless, after work I walked to where I knew there were a few buddleia bushes that had just come into flower. Result! I took about 50 photos within a few minutes. Most of the butterflies were graylings, which I've blipped before. But there was one different one, so I concentrated on pursuing that. It took me ages to identify it, but after a Google image search I'm plumping for a small tortoiseshell -- apparently common in the UK, but I haven't often seen them here. I haven't seen any swallowtails yet this year, but I suppose they will be along shortly.

A hummingbird moth was drinking at the same flower and I managed a better photo of it than I ever have before -- I was surprised when I zoomed in and saw it was giving me the evil eye though!

I have a chance of including some photos in a small exhibition locally, which is rather exciting. So this morning I spent some time selecting half a dozen photos, and then ordered prints from Photobox, who since I got my calendar printed there send me almost daily emails with special offers. I need to have the prints ready for hanging next Monday ... to my astonishment, only two hours after I ordered I received an email saying they'd printed, packed, and shipped them! I have visions of people sitting around twiddling their thumbs and pouncing on orders when they come in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.