Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Phew

So the Greased Piglet slides through again and I feel as if I've been running for the past 15 hours ... 

My way of saying much has happened since I woke this morning. I like to check my phone for blips, news and family while I drink my morning tea; today the first thing I saw was the notification from my bank that at last the money was there for the car purchase. Determined that I would keep some semblance of order in my life I wandered out to my patio (my patio!) with (another) cup of tea to enjoy the amazing scent of the roses and wisteria before the sun came onto them - I love the feeling of suddenly having another room, only outside! Then I went out to Pilates class - I can't believe that our teacher was able to do all that after a week off with Covid. 

As the day wore on we realised we needed to ensure that we had insurance on the car waiting for us - it took a good hour on the phone, mainly listening to dire music, before Himself could complete the business, the website having failed to come up trumps ("We're trying hard to remedy the problem..."). Then, with toast and mashed banana substituting for lunch, we were off down to the wee ferry (The Ali Cat, a small catamaran) to cross to Gourock as foot passengers and be met by a chap from Arnold Clark who drove us to the showroom.

An hour or so later we staggered out again and drove home. In our new car. There are things I already love about it - it has, for example, this lovely touch-sensitive screen to do stuff on. We had a crazy swap-around when we got home and I had to get into our borrowed car and drive it out to let the new one into the drive-in, then take it back to its rightful parking space outside its own home ... where I was met by a small deer scampering away and a red squirrel overhead in the tall trees. 

So that was it really. In the parallel universe, the Editor of the Scotsman had a colour piece in his own paper about the Jubilee concert last night (he was there) and the aforementioned vote of Confidence or Lack of It took place and the speculation continues. And I still don't know if Sam Ryan is going to turn out to be a total villain ...

Blipping a strangely painterly photo of a small boat fishing its way past the Western Ferries terminal, with an extra taken on the patio this morning of my thyme plant in one of our old chimney pots. It seems a very long time since I took it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.