Pictorial blethers

By blethers

and yet (s)he seeméd bisier than (s)he was ...

All right - if that title awakens a slight tremor of memory you're probably of a vintage to have studied Chaucer's Prologue at school or an English student at university back in the day ... it was a description of the lawyer and today I was lost in wonder at how I felt so busy and achieved so little that it drifted sideways into my brain in a fair approximation of the original language ...

So. I chatted on the phone at breakfast - Di is in Aberdeen for a week and we needed to catch up - and then had to scamper to get to my art class, where I did little other than experimental doodles in crayon on watercolour and use the time to unwind. I had to go to Morrison's for some potatoes on the way home; Paddy my teacher came too, along with her dog, and took me through a bit of town I never even knew existed, wherein reposes a strange coin-op row of washing machines for big loads, along with a dryer, in a rudimentary shelter. I've only lived here 49 years ...

And then I got home and started fretting about having a sermon to write and not even really knowing what the readings were, so had to go and check them out and make some preliminary notes. I'd just finished this when messages and phone calls brought to my attention the lack of publicity for our choir's concert in the Cathedral on Cumbrae this Sunday, so I had to do some swift online pushing to get at least some visibility out there. By the time I'd finished this I was once more up to high doh (not literally - hay fever has wrecked my top notes!) and had to make a swift meal for us for the usual pre-rehearsal time. 

By the time we'd eaten, the sun had come out, so I spent the rest of the time we had in the garden reading the papers and dozing. Choir was strenuous, but I was relieved to be able to sing a bit - just not the high E that I'd been doing fine BS (Before Stress). Maybe if I do nothing much for the next four days and have little singing practices it will come back. 

I took the photo for today as we left the hall where we rehearse. In contrast to our winter scurrying home after singing, we had a leisurely walk along the road surrounded with birdsong and the reflected light from the peach-coloured sky behind us. The road is Victoria Road, and it leads West towards the hills above Loch Eck, beyond which the road leads on towards the west, round lochs and mountains all the way to the coast. 

My older granddaughter is doing the practice trip for her DoE Silver award - they've got some great weather for nights in a wee tent on Loch Lomond!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.