Canoe Creek State Park on a Fine June Day

It was good weather for swimming, so my husband and I decided to have a hearty breakfast at the Altoona Eat 'n Park and then head over to Canoe Creek State Park. (Here's their webpage.) He dropped me off along the shore line so I could walk and take some pictures, and I met him at the beach.

Things were pretty low-key at Canoe Creek. There were a few people in the water, mostly children, and families having picnics and just hanging out enjoying the day. There are canoes and other little boats you can rent, and the snack bar is open seven days a week now.

When we got in the water to swim, we found it nearly as warm as the water at Bald Eagle State Park, though not nearly as dirty. (The water at Whipple Dam, on the other hand, was much cooler, though not as cold as Greenwood Furnace typically is.)

The little kids in the water immediately asked my husband, who was wearing red swim trunks, if he was the lifeguard! "Well, I used to be one," he said, "but most places don't have them anymore." (This is true; the only parks we know of now with lifeguards are those with actual swimming POOLS.)

There was a little boy about the age of 10 or so, swimming around with a scuba mask on. This is the conversation that transpired:
Husband: Have you ever been to the ocean?
Little Boy: No, I'm just a little boy! I've never been anywhere!

Well, all-righty then!

We need a soundtrack song for a lake, and here's a good one: Bob Seger, with Fire Lake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.