Deep Purple Salvia in Barb's Butterfly Garden

About this time last year, I planted a butterfly garden in honor of my big sister Barb, who donned her angel wings and went walking with Jesus the summer before. She was a lover of butterflies and it was one of the first things I could think of to do for her.

The plants didn't do too well, and by the end of summer, I sort of declared it a bust, and got a coupon for most of my money back from the company I bought the plants from. I still haven't spent it; I don't know why, but I will eventually.

This year, I've started some new efforts in Barb's butterfly garden. I planted some seeds here and there. And a few weeks ago, after the first lunch out with some old, dear girlfriends, I stopped at Harner Farm and purchased two salvia plants, and planted them in the center of her garden.

This one is deep purple. The other one is called blue suede shoes. I bought them and put them in the car just before my little Mazda and I drove into a terrible storm that could have squashed us both with fallen trees. My husband's words: "You just HAD to take that little Mazda out on one last little Hell-ride, didn't you?"

Well, I'm not really sure it actually WAS the Mazda's last Hell-ride. ;-) But anyway, ever since then, we've been referring to these as "the Hell-ride salvia." And whenever it storms, sometimes I joke with my husband: "I think it's time for me to go out and buy more salvia RIGHT NOW!" I say. And then we laugh heartily, for who would purposefully drive straight into a storm, salvia or no salvia?

Anyway, I walked into the yard on this morning and snapped a few photos of the deep purple salvia, and then I put my camera away. And of course, when I turned around without my camera in my hands, a hummingbird showed up and supped from every glorious purple bloom, as I stood and watched with my mouth hanging open!

So I am sorry I cannot show you the hummingbird. I'll try again another day. But here is the famous deep purple salvia, also known as "the Hell-ride salvia." As far as I know, that may have been the first hummingbird to visit Barb's butterfly garden. Welcome, welcome, pollinators of all shapes and sizes! Also: HOORAY!!!!!

In honor of the name of this plant, let's let this be our soundtrack song: Donny and Marie Osmond, with Deep Purple.

Update: this plant is from Proven Winners. The variety is actually called Rockin' Deep Purple Salvia, and here is a link to more info.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.