Foreveryoung

By weemusings

Castle Campbell, Dollar Glen

Destination for today was Dollar Glen

I'm not going to lie, when I first saw how dreich it was today, I didn't think I would get out for a walk and would generally be happy to have a quiet day at home, but I was restless, had too many thoughts going round in my head and didn't really want to stay indoors.

So I thought, fu*k it, I live in Scotland, this is how it is sometimes; I'm sure I can manage a wee walk in the rain for an hour or so.

My first stop, though, was the shops to get some waterproof trousers and proper walking boots with ankle support. I know it's things I should have had before now, but I just hadn't got around to getting any and knew today's weather definitely wasn't going to work with the usual trainers that I throw on with a pair of jeans.

Its been over a decade since I was last in this area visiting Castle Campbell, which I knew before heading out is currently closed, so I decided to walk along some of the trail paths instead. Unfortunately, I didn't realise part of the path here was closed, too, so I didn't do the route I'd initially planned.

I was also grateful for having a proper pair of shoes on as the paths were relatively narrow, steep, rocky and slidy in places. Despite knowing the castle was closed, I also walked up the hill to it, stopping on more than one occasion to catch my breath.

There is this lovely view towards the castle part of the way up, and it was looking very atmospheric with the mist on the hills behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.