Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Garnethill

Monday was my monthly get-together over lunch with former work colleagues in Glasgow. The bus timetable meant that I got into the city centre with some time on my hands so I wandered up to Garnethill Urban Park for a nosey around. It's one of the places featured in a book called Secret Glasgow that I got for my birthday.

One of the features of the park is a mosaic created from over 180,000 tiles, part of which is my main photo above, and which was completed in 1979. The park itself was opened in 1991 by Diana, Princess of Wales  (remember her?) and was a green space in an urban setting with water features and rocks, seating areas and sculptures. As you can see from the extra photo, it is no longer in the best of conditions but is still a popular place for people to have a sit down and a blether - there were quite a few people out enjoying the sunshine just out of shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.