Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

On Monday I was told that I must visit the London office this week to undertake a survey of its contents. To give you a sense of scale, that's approximately 350 staff spread over 4 floors. I had hoped to be able to sneak in yesterday while the Henley office was distracted with a garden party, but sadly that could not be arranged at the drop-of-a-hat as I had hoped, and so I went there today instead.

Well now! To my great surprise, the London office is a delight, and it didn't take me very long to realise that had I been based there since 24th January, I'd have had a much happier experience.
Yes, it's true, I'd have had the same line manager and the client would have been the same, as would have been the mind-bogglingly pointlessness of my role. But there would have been a world of difference in my working environment and the team-members I would have shared my workspace with. I'm sure I would not have spent quite so much time feeling bullied and crying in toilet cubicles, and even if I had, the cubicles smell of pineapple and not of fart.
And there's so much stimulating stuff going on in the surrounding streets that it's actually worth taking a lunch-break.
I didn't meant to, but I accidentally fell back in love with London.
Dammit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.