dfb24

By dfb24

Horse and Buggy Parking Only

The rain was pouring down when we woke up this morning & continued to pour all day long, but my sister and I still had fun. We drove to a little town called Dalton. Neither of us had ever been in that area before, & it was beautiful with it's soft rolling hills, large areas of woods, and not many houses. Once there,  we went to the Amish General Store, an Amish Bakery (which was in a little building attached to the house of an Amish Family), & a woodworking shop. Afterwards we decided to go find a place to eat lunch & as we were driving out of town we saw a sign at a farm for "eggs, flowers and vegetables", so we turned in. They had large pots of happy looking bright yellow or red flowers, so I bought a pot of the yellow. A young Amish girl had come out to wait on us (I'd guess about 13 or 14), so I asked her if she had any rhubarb & she said she'd go ask her mother. She ran in the house then came back out and said her mother told her to take me to their rhubarb patch around the corner & said I could pick as much as I wanted, then they'd weigh it.....50 cents a pound....so as I pulled rhubarb in the rain I chatted with the young girl. She is one of 11 children, and her oldest brother is getting married in 2 weeks, so they're all very excited. The newlyweds will live in the second house that's on the farm. This Amish Community is much more relaxed than the Community that's near my sister-in-law, where the women & children do not speak to anyone outside of their community......you can only speak to the men, who will answer you. After I got my rhubarb we went to lunch, then drove to Ripon to check out some more shops. We got back to my sisters' house about 6pm, and shortly after that my niece stopped over to visit for awhile. We played a game of cribbage--I lost, but only by 6--and then, although they told me I should stay the night again, I decided to come home since my brother is coming tomorrow. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.