Living my dream

By Mima

Winter at Bortons Pond

After a morning in the garden I decided to bale for the afternoon, and we headed to Bortons Pond where we had a wonderful 2+ hour walk.

One of us ran most of the time. Fortunately the pond contains very high quality drinking water for a tired dog, and she availed herself frequently.

It was as quiet as ever over there and the only folk we met were a group of scientists from NIWA doing a fish survey. Unfortunately we appeared just after they’d repatriated the fish they’d netted, so I didn’t get to see the 4kg trout or the 83cm long eel, nor the galaxids.

They’ll be back in spring and have offered to contact me beforehand so I can go and help. Actually I think it’s an excuse to see Bean again: they all fell in love with her.

The extra is looking up the Waitaki River to the Mary’s Range, beyond which (further west) the weather was far from benign. Parts of NZ have been battered by high winds, thunderstorms and lashing rain while we have been basking in cool but beautiful sunshine.

It was a cracking way to spend the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.