Cutting My Ties

Deconstructing our lives Day 1

We have been married 44 years, 45 in October. 

We have had three houses. 

We have filled them all to the rafters, literally, with stuff. 

Now, it's the time to start getting rid. 

My wife loves it. You can see the latent sense of joy, and release that she is experiencing. 

I hate it. My life in black plastic bags. 

The collage shows two images. 

On the left, a small selection of my ties accumulated over 45 years in financial services. My first, and best job was from 1975 to 1993. Eighteen years of conducting priveleged business with a client base that covered a large area and sustained us through our early years of marriage, mortgage and parenthood. 

Guess who it was that put me on the road to success, set me up with my own house, pension, holidays, cars and status in the community. 

And then made me redundant.

The clue is there. 

And the hangers. Over 60 hangers, all of which held one or two items of my wife's clothing, now in bags, heading for the charity shops.

A bungalow has much less space than a house, nowhere to hide. So we are now on the road to declutter, and rationalise what we need to take with us and what we must get rid of. For the sake of the kids. They won't want to do this job when the time comes

They would only talk about us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.