Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Simple pleasures

Sometimes on Blip I concentrate on recording my day, or I show an image and talk about the techniques I've use to produce it. Some images are important record shots - for me - others reveal something about me.

Today's is one of the latter. I nearly always buy new babies a set of stacking beakers. It's not too many months before they can play with them; new babies usually receive lots of fluffy animals and baby clothes. To my mind these are a perfect toy. You can stack them, build a tower, knock them over, fill them with water of sand and often they have shapes in the top which will make patterns with Playdoh. They are robust and last for years.

Over the years I've observed how these have changed in construction and price. I was buying a set for the new baby in our family, when it struck me that I don't have a set in the toy box. Here is the Sainsbury's cut price version. It's pretty good, but has holes in so water play will be somewhat frustrating.

I worked most of my life with children and always enjoyed playing with their toys them. I enjoyed arranging and stacking these before I settled on a simple blip. Used Glowing edges as well as the usual curves and levels too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.