Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Rust

My entry for Abstract Thursday with the optional theme of rust.  Mr T had Tina the Gigglebox this morning (she wholeheartedly approved of her nickname) and I'm so glad a solution was found as Mr T does enjoy her visits.  At the same time I had an advisory group meeting on oral health and Alzheimer’s and then this afternoon while he had his nap I had a meeting with one other carers rep and our manager to prepare for a scrutiny meeting on Monday.  It's a bit like the select committees, councillors will ask us questions about achieving carer status, assessing the suitability of current support and what additional support is needed.  We are going to push the same case as we do at the council partnership meetings that short breaks and respite need to be prioritised, and not means tested (if I took a break now, then Mr T would have to pay for replacement care because it's means tested on the cared for and not the "free" unpaid carer).  A little bit apprehensive but I have to remember I have lots of experience.

I have decided now that I rather like Bozo as PM now he's lost so much support, likewise our local tory MP seems to have remembered who he's supposed to be working for!  We were asked to write to our MPs to support unpaid carers to have proper breaks and respite, especially post pandemic, and if I'm lucky I get a reply from him several months later.  This time three days!  Also knowing that he was now holding surgeries, which of course we can't go to, I invited him to come (for a photo opportunity) to talk to us and experience the real world of an unpaid carer (no response to that one)!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.